Melted Witch Cookies (Day 30)

Despite what my friends and family think, I am not a very creative person. I am crafty… I can find a project, make it happen, and even put a little original spin on it. But it is very difficult for me to come up with an idea from scratch and actually pull it off.

Fortunately I don’t need to be too original. I am not coming up with cookie recipes, just decorating basic cookies. I have gotten to the point where I don’t look on line to see if there are other versions of cookie I want to make. If I have an idea, I don’t want to be influenced by someone else’s version to the point where I am tempted to just copy. But occasionally I do anyway, subconsciously.

I made some Halloween cookies, and I thought-at the time- I was influenced by these cookies by The Decorated Cookie. But then I remembered that I had seen this treat by Confessions of a Cookbook Queen, and I realized where my idea was born.

I do think they turned out really cute as cookies, right? (And the best part is that you don’t have to worry about the consistency of your icing. As long as it is not way too thin, it actually works if it runs off the side a bit. You can just relax and have fun with this.)

I cut out a “splat” shape using the “splat” cutter from this Wilton set. I flooded the top of the cookie with black icing thinned to about 10 second consistency and squeezed a bit of green on top, swirling them together with a toothpick. I let the icing set just enough that anything placed on top wouldn’t slide right off. Then I placed on top a chocolate kiss hat, and a broom (made with a pretzel stick and some fondant tinted gold. The “band” around the broom bristles was made by pressing lightly into the fondant with a toothpick dipped in brown food coloring). I let the cookies dry overnight, then wrapped them up and gave them to my niece and nephew this morning. That’s it! Cute, easy, and fun! And if you don’t feel like baking cookies or making icing, you can do it in chocolate like the Cookbook Queen’s! Or if you are in cupcake mode, check out this version by Big Bear’s Wife. So cute!

4 thoughts on “Melted Witch Cookies (Day 30)

  1. Very cute! I showed these to my 8 year old son as an idea for our day off from school baking for tomorrow and he said… “hmmm. Melted witch on a splat? Let’s do it!” I’m training him well as my assistant! 😉

  2. Pingback: #FridayRoundUP: Best Halloween Cookies | With a Side of ThriftinessWith a Side of Thriftiness

Leave a comment