Truffula Tree Cookies

Ellie is really looking forward to the opening of the new Lorax movie this weekend. So I made her some Truffula Trees to celebrate!

They were so easy. I used a simple small scalloped round cutter and baked them onto a stick.

If it works for you, you can roll your dough a little thicker and insert the stick either before baking, or immediately after they come out of the oven. That never works for me, so I usually roll my dough a little thinner, cut out two shapes, and sandwich the stick between the two before baking. Whatever works for you….

Once cooled, outline your tree with black piping icing and a small tip (I used a PME 1.5). The next part is so easy, I forgot to take the picture. Flood your trees with thinned icing in the Truffula Tree colors of your choice (I used purple, light pink, dark pink, and gold). Easy.

After the cookies dried overnight, I wrapped a thin black ribbon around the stick to look like the Truffula Tree Trunk.

I used a small piece of tape to secure the ribbon at the top and bottom. That’s it! So easy, and you can make them in literally a few hours if you want to surprise your kids with a special Seuss treat to celebrate Dr. Suess’s birthday and the opening of the  Lorax movie on Friday.

Ellie made the backdrop for this picture. Actually she asked me to sketch the Onceler’s house for her, then she colored it in and added the Onceler from her Lorax sticker book.

We were asked to send into school, a picture of the kids reading in an unusual place. I LOVE this picture of Ellie.

“I am Ellie, I read to the trees.”

Are you doing anything for “Read Across America Week” or Dr. Seuss’s Birthday? I would love to host a linky party, but I have NO technical abilities beyond writing and inserting pictures. I really want to see what you are up to, so please leave a link to your blog, FB page, Flickr, or anything and show me. Leave the link here in my comments or share on my FaceBook page. And if you make these Truffula Trees, I would love to see them too! SHARE!!!!! 🙂

Have a great week!
Tip Junkie handmade projects

****Update! This post has been linked up at the Dr. Seuss Linky party over on Life’s a Batch! Check out all of the other amazing Dr. Seuss inspired treats from around the web!*******

15 thoughts on “Truffula Tree Cookies

  1. ADORABLE COOKIES! I Love the picture of your little girl more though! My daughter takes books eveywhere…reading to her when she was little was the best thing I ever did =) Keep the pictures coming!!

  2. Stephanie – love your Truffula Tree cookies!! Ellie is a cutie-pie! We love Dr. Seuss’s birthday, too. 🙂 I just finished baking traditional Cat in the Hat Hat cookies, which I plan on frosting in the next day or two. I’ve been wanting to make the Lorax’s face on a cookie, but I love your trees, too! May I use yours as inspiration, if I try my hand at truffulas? ~ Kara

  3. Stephanie these are so cute and I never thought of putting the stick between two thinner rolled cookies. I’ve never done Dr. Seuss cookies. They always seem to come about when I’m too busy with other projects. Hopefully I’ll make some next year. I love the picture of Ellie enjoying her book! Thanks for sharing!

  4. Pingback: The Lorax Cookies (and Roundup!) | Carrie's Creations

  5. Pingback: Dr. Seuss Round-up | Ellie's Bites Decorated Cookies

  6. Pingback: 50+ Lorax Ideas {Food, Crafts and Party Fun} | Desert Chica Ramblings

  7. Pingback: 15 Seuss Inspired Snacks and Treats - Classy Mommy

  8. Pingback: 44 Fun Ways to Celebrate Doctor Seuss Day! – Tip Junkie

Leave a comment